
Priya Shah
Founder & General Partner
Leads fund strategy and investments. Prior investing experience spans energy, mobility and agritech at Yunus Social Business, Acumen and British International Investment.
LinkedIn profile ↗India / Direct investor

Technology for energy and industrial transformation.
India-based early-stage investor in deep tech, new materials, climate and physical AI.
Connect Now01 / The fund
Theia Ventures invests in India-based founders building differentiated, IP-led technology. The current mandate spans energy and industrial systems, physical AI, advanced manufacturing, materials and circular systems. Its first institutional fund targets early-stage climate companies; current portfolio additions also include robot-training infrastructure. The manager combines a technical investment thesis with support for commercialisation and follow-on fundraising.
In October 2025, Theia announced the first close of Fund I, with commitments exceeding half of its $30M target. It stated typical initial cheques of $500K-$1M, an intended 18-20 company portfolio and more than half of the corpus reserved for follow-ons. The expected final close by the end of FY26 was a plan. Later LP additions are documented, but a final close was not confirmed in the sources checked. SIDBI’s current official list gives a different target corpus of INR 400 crore; this is shown as a separate source figure, not converted into the older dollar target.
The manager lists Fund I as a SEBI Category II AIF, registration IN/AIF2/23-24/1428. BII’s own disclosure confirms a $5M investment, active at its September 2026 update. Its earlier assessment describes nine proprietary Fund 0 investments, which should not be confused with the new institutional vehicle.
The portfolio below preserves 10 current entries, six in Past Portfolio and Varaha under Exits. Those are the website’s categories, not a blanket assignment to Fund I: altM, for example, is now under Current Portfolio while the manager’s 2025 announcement described an earlier proprietary investment in it. Past Portfolio alone is not treated as exited. Company products and operating sites were checked separately.
Dated fund and cheque announcement ↗ · BII’s investment disclosure ↗ · SIDBI’s current fund record ↗02 / Portfolio
17 portfolio companies across sectors, retaining the manager’s Current Portfolio, Past Portfolio and Exits categories. Energy & Materials includes batteries, cooling, specialty chemicals, recycling and industrial materials. Physical AI includes aircraft and the data infrastructure for learning robots. Software-only energy management and carbon-project services remain in Others.

Turns agricultural and industrial biomass into specialty chemicals and materials. Its altMorph thermochemical process uses heat-driven chemistry to make products including binders, silica, rheology modifiers and cellulosic pulp, rather than relying on a fermentation process.
Holding source ↗
Makes electronically commutated fans, air-quality sensors and building-control systems. EC motors use electronics to control speed efficiently; the products target ventilation and energy use in commercial and industrial buildings.
Holding source ↗
Builds battery energy-storage systems for commercial and industrial sites. Its software schedules stored electricity to reduce peak grid charges, shift solar power to later hours and reduce diesel-generator use.
Holding source ↗
Develops flexible silica-aerogel insulation sheets for industrial equipment, mobility and other thermal-management uses. Aerogel is a very porous, lightweight material that slows heat transfer; the company focuses on making it easier to manufacture and install.
Holding source ↗
Builds AI tools for materials research, including experimental design, recipe discovery, synthesis planning, optimisation and scale-up. The platform combines computational models with laboratory work; it is not proof that every suggested material has been manufactured.
Manager-linked novyte.in redirects to the current novyte.ai site.
Holding source ↗
Converts waste biomass into industrial bio-coal and biochar. Bio-coal can replace fossil inputs in some industrial processes, while biochar can store carbon; product performance and emissions figures on the company site remain company claims.
Holding source ↗
Air-conditioning company previously described by Theia as OctoLife Climate Solutions. Current brand Optimist sells inverter split ACs with a micro-channel heat exchanger, energy tracking and diagnostic features. Theia lists the current brand in Past Portfolio, not under Exits.
Optimist identity matched through Arkam’s Octolife portfolio page and Theia’s older OctoLife announcement. Past Portfolio does not itself mean exited.
Holding source ↗
Provides communications devices, sensors and analytics for smart electricity meters, solar monitoring and grid integration. Connects physical energy assets with software for monitoring and control.
Holding source ↗
Develops a coordinated battery-and-charger system for rapid-charging electric vehicles. Its current site advertises 15-minute charging using lithium-iron-phosphate cells; charging times depend on the compatible vehicle and charging system.
Holding source ↗
Uses a proprietary process to turn agricultural and bast-fibre waste into textile-grade fibres and yarns. Products include hemp-, flax-, banana- and pineapple-derived fibres for existing textile manufacturing.
Holding source ↗
Recycles lithium-ion battery waste using its Integrated Carbothermal Reduction process. Heat and carbon-based reduction recover metals in commodity forms; company claims about process economics and environmental performance are not independent validation.
Holding source ↗
Builds data infrastructure for training robots, covering dataset collection, curation, quality checks, annotation and delivery to training computers. It is software infrastructure for physical intelligence, not a robot manufacturer.
Holding source ↗
Develops Shunya, a hybrid-electric vertical-takeoff aircraft for passenger and cargo transport. Its current site describes electric urban trips plus longer-range hybrid operation. These are design and development claims, not evidence that commercial passenger service has begun.
Holding source ↗
Combines fermentation experiments, machine learning and reactor physics to model biomanufacturing. Its digital-twin approach simulates a biological production process to help teams choose recipes, transfer them to larger reactors and monitor production.
Holding source ↗
Software for renewable-energy project planning, power procurement, bidding and plant operations. Combines engineering and financial models with forecasting and scheduling tools; it is energy software rather than a battery or power producer.
Holding source ↗
Energy-management and shared-energy platform for buildings and other users. Links utility data, smart meters and efficiency actions with energy services; it is not presented as a novel battery-chemistry company.
Holding source ↗
Develops and measures carbon-removal projects with smallholder farmers, including regenerative agriculture, biochar and other land-based methods. Theia places this company in its Exits section; no exit date or transaction value is supplied.
Explicitly under Exits in the manager’s visual layout. No exit timing or return is inferred.
Holding source ↗03 / Team & connect

Founder & General Partner
Leads fund strategy and investments. Prior investing experience spans energy, mobility and agritech at Yunus Social Business, Acumen and British International Investment.
LinkedIn profile ↗
Head of Investments & Portfolio
Leads investment evaluation and portfolio work. Background includes finance, management consulting and public policy; studied manufacturing engineering and finance at BITS Pilani.
LinkedIn profile ↗
Investment Analyst
Investment research and analysis. Previously worked on strategy, growth and private-equity due diligence at McKinsey, with earlier climate-risk work at Deutsche Bank.
LinkedIn profile ↗
Venture Scouting Lead
Works on the investments team, sourcing early-stage companies. Previously worked with startups at NSRCEL-IIM Bangalore, including sustainable mobility and climate technology.
LinkedIn profile ↗
Venture Partner / Investment Committee
Clean-energy entrepreneur and investor, also co-founder and managing director of Odyssey Energy Solutions. The manager separately lists him on its investment committee.
LinkedIn profile ↗
Venture Partner
Technology entrepreneur and investor. The manager lists him as a venture partner; his current personal profile identifies his external operating role at Elevante AI.
LinkedIn profile ↗
Investment Committee
Listed on Theia’s investment committee as co-founder of Ojas Venture Partners. The manager shortens his name to Pavan Krishna; the personal profile gives the full surname.
LinkedIn profile ↗
Investment Committee
Working Capital Fund leader listed on Theia’s investment committee. This is a committee role, not a full-time Theia partner title.
LinkedIn profile ↗
Investment Committee
Venture-building and growth-investment background. Listed on the official investment committee; his external affiliation is not used to imply employment by Theia.
LinkedIn profile ↗Six core and venture-investment contacts, plus three additional investment-committee members. Committee roles are labeled separately from full-time employment. Piyush appears once despite serving in two roles. Finance/compliance-only staff and advisers are excluded from investment contacts. Official biographies and current personal LinkedIn identities were checked; the manager’s swapped Pavan/Piyush profile links have been corrected to the matching people.
Official contact route ↗04 / Fund network
Named fund backers, separate from advisers and portfolio co-investors. Evidence strength is stated on each card: BII, SIDBI, Cisco Foundation and MOLPLUS have supporting backer-side disclosures; other names are attributed to dated manager announcements or the manager’s current profile. Undisclosed amounts and vehicles remain undisclosed.
Anchor LP
$5M investment confirmed in BII’s own disclosure, active as of its September 2026 update.
Commitment source ↗Institutional LP
Named in the October 2025 manager first-close announcement. Amount not disclosed.
Commitment source ↗Institutional LP
Named by the manager; Cisco’s own climate-investment page also lists Theia Ventures. Amount not disclosed.
Commitment source ↗Institutional LP
Australia-based investor named in the October 2025 manager announcement. Amount not disclosed.
Commitment source ↗Corporate venture LP
Investment announced December 2025 and corroborated by MOL PLUS’s own subsequent statement. The investing entity is MOL PLUS, not a generic shipping-company contact.
Commitment source ↗Institutional LP
Manager announcement March 2026; SIDBI’s official list records INR 20 crore sanctioned to Theia Ventures Fund I. Sanction is not a claim of full cash disbursement.
Commitment source ↗Fund-of-funds LP
Named as a new institutional investor in the March 2026 manager announcement. Amount not disclosed.
Commitment source ↗Institutional LP
Named as a new institutional investor in the March 2026 manager announcement. Amount not disclosed.
Commitment source ↗Manager-listed institutional backer
Named in the current manager company profile. Specific investing vehicle, amount and commitment date not independently confirmed.
Commitment source ↗Manager-listed backer
Named in the October 2025 fund announcement. Specific group investing vehicle and amount not disclosed.
Commitment source ↗Manager-listed backer
The manager names the group in its first-close announcement. No personal commitment by an individual is inferred.
Commitment source ↗
Named individual / family-office backer
Named in the fund announcement separately from his advisory role. The exact investing vehicle and amount were not disclosed.
Commitment source ↗
Named individual / family-office backer
Thermax chairperson named in the manager’s fund announcement; this does not establish a commitment by Thermax itself.
Commitment source ↗
Named individual / family-office backer
Named in the manager’s December 2025 update. The exact investment vehicle and amount were not disclosed.
Commitment source ↗
Named individual / family-office backer
Former Citi India CEO, named in the manager’s first-close announcement. Personal profile checked; amount and vehicle not disclosed.
Commitment source ↗Anand Mahindra’s advisory role alone would not establish LP status; the separate fund announcement supplies that evidence. Other advisers are not automatically LPs. Research checked 2 November 2026.